The Pack Horse Exmoor self catering accommodation

Exmoor ~ Quality self catering
holiday Cottage and Apartments

Allerford, nr Porlock, Somerset, England, TA24 8HW
Tel: 01643 862475
email: holidays@thepackhorse-exmoor.co.uk

Translate into French Translate into Dutch Translate into German Translate into Spanish Translate into Portuguese Translate into Italian

Use the Check Availability button to check availability now for the dates & accommodation you require.

Here are some guest reviews posted on Trip advisor.You can see all the reveiws on www.tripadvisor.co.uk along with our scoring , type in The Pack Horse Exmoor to the seach bar.

.“Opened our eyes to a new holiday experience.”

Reviewed 15 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

 

After years of camping in the English weather, we were lucky enough to stumble across the pack horse online and lucky enough to find the date that we wanted, and it has opened our eyes to a complete new holiday experience, met with a very warm welcome, we found our cottage bright and beautiful with wonderful views, a very relaxing and stress free holiday, Brian and Linda are fantastic hosts nothing is too much trouble and will go out of their way to make your holiday one to remember. loved it so much we have booked again, and can not wait to return, and we will be recommending friends and family. Thank you Paul Yvonne and Zita.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“The ultimate delightful family holiday”

Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

 

The Pack Horse is exceptional in every way! The cottages are charming and comfortable, and the view in every direction is breathtaking! There are rolling, flowered hillsides with hiking paths in all directions, animals of all kinds, and Linda and Brian make sure that you are aware of all the opportunities in the area. They are warm and helpful, and they were like family by the end of the week! They always seemed to have plenty of time to help us plan the day ahead and were genuinely interested in hearing about our adventures at day's end. They could not have been better hosts. The ambience in Allerford is over-the-top, with the colorful flowers along every street--growing on stone walls and climbing the sides of the homes--natural beauty at its best! Excursions to Dunster castle, to Lynmouth and Lynton, to the steam train station, to the Owl and Hawk Museum, to the local Allerford Museum--so many convenient side trips just minutes away--makes the Pack Horse a great choice for a holiday home base. We give it the highest possible recommendation! Keith Horne

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Exceeded expectations”

Reviewed 4 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

 

My family and I just returned from a week at the Pack Horse, and the experience far exceeded our expectations. We came from the United States to find an authentic experience in the West Country, and to ride horses on Exmoor. This place delivers! The aesthetics of the Pack Horse, the surrounding villages, and the scenic countryside is a "10" on a scale of 10; and Brian and Linda are simply delightful. When we left them, we felt like we were leaving home and dear friends. They helped us with side trips to various nearby villages, horse rides, hikes, restaurants, train rides, and much more. Better yet, they steered us away from activities that we would have found to be less fun. We are coming back!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“The Jewel In The Crown”

Reviewed 21 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011


We received a real warm welcome from Linda and Brian and felt at home and at ease right from the off. After been shown around our accomodation which is of a very high standard Linda invested time to peruse a map of the local area and recommended lots of walks alot of which can be done straight from the accomodation without using a car etc.
We did many of the walks (and more) some were easy walking others were more arduous with very steep long climbs but well worth the effort when rewarded with the breath-taking views and scenery. The village of Allerford and Selworthy are really picturesque and picture postcard like, Porlock village is a steady walk from the Pack Horse but can be done through the fields and meadow land and so avoiding the narrow roads, the village is quaint with nice shops a small supermarket and a few pubs. If you wish to have a car journey there are many places of interest not too far away, we visited Lynton and Lynmouth by parking at Watersmeet and walking down by the riverside a beautiful walk taking about 25mins, the funicular railway is well worth the experience and once at the top another nice walk to The Valley of Rocks a must, a drive over Exmoor is highly recommended the carpet of yellow and purple heather is stunning and look out for the clusters of Exmoor ponies, Minehead is a short drive from the Pack Horse (about 10mins) where you can take in the fresh sea air, visit the shops on the main street, the baskets of flowers are in full bloom and look splendid, there are a few inns and one on the quayside if you fancy sitting outside and watching the world go by, from Minehead runs the West Somerset Steam Railway this is an absolute must (try and pick a sunny day) a day rover ticket costs £15.60 each but worth every penny, you can get on and off at any of the 10 stations, we got off at Watchet a medieval town and harbour it has a lovely gentle feel and is like stepping back in time, another must is the beautiful town of Dunster, every station has a wonderful feel to it, hanging baskets, old advertising boards and railway staff in period costimes all add to the atmosphere. Our stay at the Pack Horse and surrounding area has been fabulous and left us wanting more, we will definately be back at the Pack Horse again soon where we know Linda and Brian will be waiting to extend a real warm welcome to this fantastic place, thankyou both.
Howard and Sandra
Sheffield

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Amazing place, wonderful holiday”

Reviewed 8 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011


My partner and I (both in our 30s) stayed in the Honeysuckle apartment and we can't recommend it highly enough. The accommodation is great – the little touches (like fresh flowers, caffetieres, wifi, a pot of tea when we arrived) were fantastic and the place itself has breathtaking views of the countryside, as well as a prime position next to the iconic Pack Horse bridge. There is loads to do in the area, yet it's also an ideal place to relax and do very little in incredible surroundings. Linda and Brian made us feel so welcome and we never felt as though we were 'invading' their property, yet they were always there if we needed help or advice. A fantastic place to stay in a really beautiful area.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Our little piece of heaven.”

Reviewed 13 May 2011 for a stay in August 2010

 

Linda and Brian are such wonderful people, so friendly and welcoming. The accomodation is superb. We have stayed in all but one of the apartments and each has its own charm. We have to visit at least once a year. It is our special place.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“the comeback kids”

Reviewed 12 September 2010 for a stay in May 2010

 

Since finding the pack horse, we have booked for the following year on leaving, year after year, and have been going now for almost ten years. This year celebrating with Linda and Brian the anniversary of their opening with other regular visitors. They treat you as their personal friends and make you feel valued,while stilll running a very professional business. . The tray of tea and welcome on arriving, is just one of the many sensitive services that are delivered to you with such genuine care.
Booking in Spring, we look forward to watching our summer unravel, along with our stress, while walking the amazing countryside and Honicote estate which is maintained to appear as a timeless landscape.........................

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“ideal holiday accommodation”

Reviewed 21 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010

 

Our stay at the The Pack horse was way beyond expectation the friendly welcome ,the accommodation, were perfect. Brian and Linda are lovely people they make you so welcome on arrival, offering tea or coffee after you've settled into your apartment. They were celebrating their 10th year as proprietors of The Pack Horse and we were included in the celebrations. Linda's cream teas are to die for. It's the ideal area if like us you are fond of walking.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Somerset Heaven”

Reviewed 25 June 2009 for a stay in May 2009

 

The Packhorse is ideally situated just off the A39 in an area of outstanding beauty, and commands a secluded position with a stream passing under an historic packhorse bridge and through a ford.
The self catering accommodation has been tastefully designed around existing old world properties which are fitted out to the highest standards.
Private off road parking is catered for and the units can be cleverley adjusted to accommodate small or larger groups.
Allerford is a delightfull hamlet for walks and makes a great base for touring just away from the busier areas.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Dee's Return”

Reviewed 8 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

 

The facilities availble at the Packhorse can only be described as excellent. You will experieince comfort and friendly service. Linda and Brian will go out of their way to ensure your holiday is an experience you will treasure, and it would amaze me if once you visit Allerford you do not make many return visits, I do:) Allerford is an area of outstanding beauty and the local villagers are the friendliest you will meet anywhere in the world. Make sure you vist Allerford and if you are lucky enough to book a cottage with Linda and Brian then all the better

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“A perfect place to stay for a perfect break”

Reviewed 18 May 2012 for a stay in May 201


A week spent in a beautiful cottage in amazing surroundings. Brian and Linda - the perfect hosts, couldn't do enough for us. A TOTALLY dog friendly place to stay. Already booked up to return !
Loads of walks to take on. Thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a break to get away from it all. 10 out of 10

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“A place with heart”

Reviewed 25 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011


This is one of the few places we've stayed at that lives up to its reviews and descriptions online. We had excellent service throughout - from booking online to checking out. We were three adults and a 3 year old, and we all loved the cottage! The Pack Horse was easy to find by car and with a rather old sat nav, there were no hidden costs or surprises, the Stable Cottage was very cute, clean, and functional with comfortable beds, sofas, and a well equipped kitchen for cooking meals. There were many attractions around, even for bad weather, accessible by foot and car. But what we liked best was how the owners, Linda and Brian, made us feel - right at home. They looked after us very well, gave excellent tips on activities and made the stay almost magical for our son. I liked the bad weather the least, but that is something out of anyone's control, although Linda felt personally responsible for it and made scones and tea to cheer us up! I highly recommend staying at The Pack Horse.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Beautiful location and accommodation”

Reviewed 29 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011

 

Super accommodation in a wonderful setting. We stayed in Stable Cottage which had everything you could need and so comfortable. Brian and Linda are wonderful and friendly hosts. Our second visit this year - no need to say more!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Somerset is possibly Britain's best kept secret. Along with The Packhorse in Allerford.”

Reviewed 27 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011


The Packhorse is undoubtedly in one of the most beautiful parts of the British countryside. The quality of the welcome you receive here is wonderful, the owners Brian and Linda really can't do enough for you. They are always around to help, but also discreet enough to leave you alone.

We came last year and loved it and despite trying not to come back we couldn't resist it (we like to explore and try to avoid visiting the same place twice.) It is highly likely that we'll be back next year.

The most amazing thing is the amount of excellent walking right on the doorstep therefore we rarely have to use the car. It really is beautiful.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“We love this place...”

Reviewed 27 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

 

I have never written an online review on anything before but I am more than happy to say how lovely The Pack Horse is. We first stayed there about 10 years ago when Linda and Brian had just taken over. The whole area is obviously beautiful but more important than this for us was the way the owners make everyone feel so welcome from the moment you arrive to the time you leave. Consequently we've been back every year since and are now proud to think of Linda and Brian as good friends. We've always stayed in Stable Cottage and each time we've gone back we notice some sort of improvement that's been added. It's clear that we're certainly not the only ones who re-book to go back year after year - that says it all I guess!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“an oasis, home from home,lovely people beautiful villages”

Reviewed 25 May 2010 for a stay in December 2009

 

l had a few day away from London, what a treat was is store for me,beautiful villages decorated for Christmas,l joined friends , and we had such a lovely time exploring the countryside and their dogs enjoyed it too,will certainly go back again ,it very unspoilt, and the suite of rooms were spotless and nicely furnished ,the owners where so friendly and pointed us in the right direction od places to visit,E, Dobbs, London

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“A WONDERFULL PLACE TO STAY”

Reviewed 16 December 2009 for a stay in December 2009

 

We had the most wonderfull week staying at the Packhorse, in Allerford., Somerset, Its the best West country accomadation we have stayed in,..surrounded by pretty villages , and the owners are so nice and helpful, we took our three dogs and they had a great time too, We cant wait to go back, do look at the website, you wont be dissapointed, its the best holiday in uk we have had for years,do try it, Pat and Colin, and the dogs...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Didn't want to leave!”

Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

 

Had another wonderful stay at The Packhorse, this time we were there for 3 glorious weeks! We stayed in the Bridge Apartment, which is delightful. However, I have stayed in the Rose Apartment on another occasion and that is really great too. I can echo what other reviewers have said that Linda & Brian are the perfect hosts. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble. A welcome cup of tea on arrival and then every Friday Linda makes the best cream teas around! We ate ours in the lovely surroundings of their courtyard. If you're looking for a great place to chill, then you've found it at The Packhorse. Plus if you're into activities there is so much to do. The walks in the surrounding area are fab - lanes, woods or to the beach! You are bound to see deer when walking on Exmoor or around Porlock Hill. If you're lucky you may catch sight of the otters that sometimes visit the river next to the Packhorse in late evening. I didn't see them this time but I most definitely heard them. However, I did encounter the 'eel family' when Brian enticed them out with some ham! Over the years, I have stayed in various places within the area and can honestly say that you feel so welcome and at home, so much so, you just don't want to leave! So that's why I've booked another 3 weeks for 2013 and am also looking to return in a few mths time.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Another lovely time....”

Reviewed 17 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

 

Just back from another week at The Packhorse. Such a lovely time, never disappointed. Lots of walking straight from the property. Linda and Brian as always, the perfect hosts. Will be back in October....!!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Fab Week”

Reviewed 27 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011


We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Pack Horse. On our arrival we were met by Brian and Linda who made us feel extremely welcome and relaxed. We stayed in the Bridge View apartment which had all the space we needed plus lovely views of the bridge and ford. I would recommend the Pack Horse for its excellent location, accommodation ( including many cupboards and coat hangers) and very friendly owners.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“A haven of peace and tranquility”

Reviewed 15 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011


The Packhorse is a little gem nestled in the Exmoor countryside. This was our third visit and we are returning in October and May of next year. Linda & Brian are wonderful hosts. Linda's knowledge of the area, (with little bits of history thrown in) and the many walks, straight from the cottages are invaluable. All of their cottages/apartments are furnished to the highest standard. The attention to detail, from the lighting to the bedding (we sleep so well) is lovely. We stayed in Bridge View with our two dogs. The views from almost every window are amazing. We are always lucky with the weather, and if I didn't know better, I would say that they manage to organise that too...!!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“A little bit of heaven on earth.”

Reviewed 26 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010

 

A warm and friendly welcome from Linda and Brian. Very comfortable accommadtion in pretty courtyard setting. Surrounded by beautiful walks in picturesque Exmoor. We keep coming back.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“Best in Somerset”

Reviewed 19 December 2009 for a stay in December 2009

 

I had a wonderful weekend at the Pack Horse in Allerford, the apartment was lovely,and Linda and Brian the owners ,where so helpful ,Home from home, We went for the Porlock Christmas weekend and had the time of our life,,,Its an amazing place to stay with the little bridge in front of the Pack Horse,I cant wait to go back and take my dog next time Elaine

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“The Packhorse is TOPS”

Reviewed 15 September 2009 for a stay in April 2009


Found this excellent accomodation 3 years ago. We have 2 large dogs who holiday with us. The Packhorse and the friendly hosts Linda & Brian look after all your needs and requirements throughout your stay. Its perfectly placed to explore Exmoor. The dogs love it too. The accomodation is varied and we stay in different appartments or the cottage, depends on the size of our family on each visit. Good value for money, peacful, relaxed and you do your own thing. To find a place that caters for dogs and their families is a top priority for us. The Packhorse is TOPS for us and we come twice a year. I would gladly recommend it whether you have a pet or not. We are due back again later this year, can't wait. When you find a little gem, do you keep quite or tell everyone? Well, I've told you now !!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“The Best in the Southwest. go on try it!!!!!!!”

Reviewed 4 July 2009

 

As visitors to the Pack Horse for a week of self catering, the first in our lives( we have always used hotels etc). Now we have enjoyed what can be called a true english holiday, hosted by 28 of the best people around. Both my wife and myself thank you Linda & Brian for that experiance. We have already booked 2 weeks in June 2010, and wish to say that the local produce is superb. The butcher in Porlock has the best meats, tasting better than supermarkets. There are of course only 2 persons there, but they wear the right hat for the job, caring for happiness in your stay is paramount to both of them. We wish them total success in their service to you the next guest. Name and address supplied


The Pack Horse - Exmoor quality self catering holiday cottage and apartments© 2007 The Pack Horse - Tel: (01643) 862475